Enticing Interlude by Michelle Mankin ~ Audiobook Review & Quote-tastic

I won Enticing Interlude at Michelle Mankin's release party for her latest book. I decided to upgrade to the audiobook, because it was cheap! This was a fun read and has me curious about the other members in the band!
Title: Enticing Interlude
Author: Michelle Mankin
Series: Tempest #2
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published: January 22nd 2014

Buy Now - Amazon | B&N

To the talented vocalist Justin Jones, love is merely a game that he plays by his own rules. But to Bridget Dubois, love and heartache are one and the same. Broken too many times before, the delicate beauty keeps her emotions carefully concealed. Bridget has her own set of rigid rules when it comes to men. She prefers to avoid them altogether, especially dangerously seductive auburn haired emerald eyed players like Justin. But the new lead singer of the rising rock band Tempest doesn't like to be ignored.

Justin is used to getting what he wants, and now he's set his sights on Bridget. Suddenly, it's no longer a game. What do you do when the one you can't have turns out to be the one you can't live without? As the pressure builds, will it temper them or will it shatter them both like fragile crystal?

This is the first book I have read by Michelle Mankin, and although Enticing Interlude is the second book in the Tempest series and the fifth in the Black Cat Records series, I felt that it was easy to get into this world. I love to read about rock groups and I enjoyed listening to Justin and Bridget’s story.

Bridget had nowhere to go after the death of her grandmother, so she and her son, Carter, moved in with her friend Lace. I discovered how hard things had been for Bridget growing up, what she had been through and what she lost. She trusted someone, only for them to shatter her and she would do anything to protect Carter. She battled an addiction and was able to find her way again. Not long after she moved in with Lace she met Justin and soon he turned her world upsidedown.

Justin wasn’t looking for commitment, but he was quickly drawn to Bridget, wanting to know her and protect her. He has been offered the job of a lifetime, being the front man for Tempest. He let Bridget in to his world and I could see his love for her grow. I also learned the glossed over details of the history between Justin, his sister, their father and the circumstances that occurred throughout Avery’s books.

I enjoyed most of the book, seeing Bridget transform from a shy, quiet girl who took on a woman who despised her. I loved this new side to her, but I was disappointed that she retreated into her shell at a certain stage. She had come such a long way only to doubt the one person who loves her. Other than that, I liked most of the characters and liked seeing relationships strengthen.

Now, the narration is probably what threw me off for this one. Kai Kennicott was great! I loved how well he narrated, Wen Ross was a little quiet and muffled at times and I found her hard to follow. What was different about this narration, was that through Justin’s chapter’s Wenn would narrate all the female parts and vice versa for Bridget’s chapters. But it was the extra sound effects thrown in… the giggling and other sounds… that threw me off.

I thought that this was a good read though, and I enjoyed the way the story unfolded. Justin and Bridget were easy characters to like and both had been through their own personal hells but overcome them to be better people. They had a good support around them and love those close to them fiercely. I would love to read more in this series, and hope to go back to the beginning and see where it all started.

I love it when the guy begs for a chance! Justin was so sweet!

“Give me an opening, Bridget. Let me in. Take a chance with me. I promise you won’t regret it. I promise we’ll take it slow. And I promise I will always tell you the truth. Even when I think it’s not something you want to hear. Even if I think it might make you mad. I know you need to be able to trust me and I want you to.”

Kindle Page 104

Hosted by Anna @ Herding Cats & Burning Soup

Michelle Mankin is the Amazon bestselling author of the Black Cat Records series of novels.

Romance with subtext.

Reimagining classic stories with sexy rock stars and thought provoking issues.

Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and Love Resolution are a BRUTAL STRENGTH centered trilogy, combining the plot underpinnings of Shakespeare with the drama, excitement, and indisputable sexiness of the rock 'n roll industry.

Things take a bit of an edgier, once upon a time turn with the TEMPEST series. These pierced, tatted, and troubled Seattle rockers are young and on the cusp of making it big, but with serious obstacles to overcome that may prevent them from ever getting there.

Rock stars, myths, and legends collide with paranormal romance in a totally mesmerizing way in the MAGIC series.

Catch the perfect wave with irresistible surfers in the ROCK STARS, SURF AND SECOND CHANCES series.

When Michelle is not prowling the streets of her Texas town listening to her rock music much too loud, she is putting her daydreams down on paper or traveling the world with her family and friends, sometimes for real, and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back.

No comments:

Post a Comment

If you can't leave a comment please EMAIL ME a quick message!! Disqus may have some tweeks :)