The Phoenix Candidate by Heidi Joy Tretheway ~ Review & Swoon Thursday

I read the first and second books in the Grace Colton series for the tour for The Phoenix Campaign in April, so today I am bringing you the review for The Phoenix Candidate, book 1 in the series. I also have some delicious swoons from Jared!!


Title: The Phoenix Candidate
Author: Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Grace Colton #1
Genre: Adult Erotic Romance
Published: January 12th 2015

Buy Now - Amazon | B&N


Fans of Scandal, House of Cards, and The Good Wife will love Grace Colton...

U.S. Congresswoman Grace Colton is the most famous woman in politics—and the loneliest—until a drawling, sexy stranger offers her one night: no strings and no regrets. And it rocks her world.

Grace wakes to an empty hotel room and a phone call. The dark horse for the 2016 presidential election, Senator Shep Conover, is considering her as his vice presidential running mate.

Before she can be selected, Grace must be vetted and coached by Shep’s political consultant, Jared Rankin, who already knows too many intimate details about her. He’s Mr. One-Night Stand. 

Grace is torn: play nice with Jared to join the senator’s ticket, or play hardball and back the slick frontrunner? As the Democratic National Convention approaches, Grace must decide where her loyalties lie and if she can trust Jared with her future—and her heart.

The Phoenix Candidate is an adult erotic romance recommended for mature readers.

For a girl that lives in Australia and knows nothing about politics, I absolutely loved this book! Heidi Joy Tretheway has done a remarkable job tying together the past, politics and passion, to create this addictive read that I want more of it NOW!!

Grace was a character I liked immediately! When I first met her, she was in a sizzling situation outside of her comfort zone, but was willing to see it through. I was soon thrown into the world of American Politics and learning more about Grace as her past is unearthed and she is pursued for the job of her dreams. She is the type of person who is passionate about her beliefs and is willing to stand up for herself.

Jared is quite the mysterious guy. I was unsure of what his intentions were in the beginning, but it soon becomes apparent that he is there for something more. He has a lot of secrets and he slowly lets down some walls and I was able to understand why he was so closed off.

The sparks between Grace and Jared are scorching!! They are completely drawn to each other, body and soul. There are some hiccups along the way and they both need to take ‘one fucking minute’ to think things through. I loved seeing them together and have my fingers crossed that they see it through to the end together.

There were a few interesting side characters introduced in this book. I loved Trey, Grace’s assistant he is able to manage her schedule and is basically her family along with his mother Mama Bea. Aaron and Lauren Darrow are a manipulative pair. And then there is her friend Shep Conover, the guy in her corner, willing to support her in any decision she wants to make. All these characters add great depth, support or twists to the storyline.

This is the first book in Heidi Joy Tretheway’s Grace Colton series, and I am completely addicted to it! The characters are head strong, fiery and determined to succeed. They have had difficult pasts that have shaped them into the people they are today. Heidi has a writing style that sweeps you away quickly and you immerse yourself in the political world she created. I am excited to get into the next book, The Phoenix Campaign, to see what happens next for them. 


Complimentary copy provided by the Author in exchange for an honest review.




“Look, I, ah, I’m sorry if I gave you the wrong idea. I’m not looking for company—”
“I am.” Jared’s gaze is searching. “Grace, you’re a beautiful woman. You can do whatever you choose, but here’s what I’m offering: No stories. No strings. And no regrets in the morning.”

Kindle Arc Loc 107

“Take off the dress.”
“Here?”
“Now.” His tone leaves no room for argument, but it gets my hackles up. I hate being told what to do. “Slowly.”

Kindle Arc Loc 137

Hosted by YA Bound

Heidi Joy is a sucker for campfires, craft cocktails, and steamy romance in books and real life. She sings along with musicals (badly), craves French carbs, and buys plane tickets the way some women buy shoes.

Her first career as a journalist took Heidi behind the scenes with politicians, rock stars, chefs, and detectives, all of whom inspire her stories. Heidi Joy is currently working on her eighth book from her home in Portland, Oregon. She adores hearing from readers at author.heidi@gmail.com.



Other reviews featuring Heidi Joy Tretheway
Grace Colton series
Tattoo Thief series

17 comments:

  1. Politics? American Politics? I avoid that at all costs. I am glad you enjoyed this one. And if it could explain politics then it make be brilliant.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This doesn't go into great detail, it is more about campaign and the hawt romance!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm not much into politics either, but this one does sound tempting. Might need to add it to my TBR pile.
    Love the swoons. Thanks for sharing.

    Marilyn @ Marilyn's Mystery Blog

    ReplyDelete
  4. I don't know... I'm interested in politics, but just because of that, I might not like a book that barely scratches the surface. On the other hand, oh well, it looks good ! OK, after intense inner debate, I'm adding it to my list :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Man, political intrigue laced with heated romance! Sounds so good :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love a mysterious male lead and a scorching hot romance! It's always an added bonus when the side characters add depth to the story and twists! H-O-T Swoon! Jared sure sounds like one very sexy, and bossy alpha male!!! Great Review & Swoon! Thanks for sharing :)


    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds hot and like I would enjoy their connection

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sounds pretty good although I am not sure about the politics angle-not really an erotica reader either, but I am glad it was a good read for you :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I was quite surprised as to how much I enjoyed it. It's not real heavy on the political side!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I think you'd have to try it and see, but it is a romance and I think the author puts enough of both in to tie the story together well.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I LOVED Jared! He know what he wants and loves to be in control when he can!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I wasn't sure either, but surprised as to how much I enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Bookworm BrandeeJune 16, 2015 at 2:16 AM

    I remember your review of The Phoenix Campaign - I was reading Off the Record at the time and I was drawn to the politics element. I'm going to have to read this series soon. I want to finish the Record series first though. I just really want to meet Grace and Jared. That swoon where she says she doesn't like being told what to do and he says 'slowly'...dayum! Yeah, can't wait, Naomi!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I know, right? That was such a sexy scene! I have loved this series so much... dying for the final book, I tell ya! I hope you get a chance to read it soon... I suppose it's on the Naomi List??

    ReplyDelete

If you can't leave a comment please EMAIL ME a quick message!! Disqus may have some tweeks :)