A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ~ Review & Teaser Tuesday

Today is Release Day for Sarah J. Maas' newest release and I absolutely LOVED it! I hope you have a chance to read it, because it has everything I want in a NA Fantasy!
Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Genre: NA Fantasy
Published: May 5th 2015

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Buy Now - Amazon
I loved, loved, LOVED this book! I have read and loved Sarah’s Throne of Glass series, so when I received this little beauty, I was so excited to read it. It has been a little while since I have read a good fae book, and this one totally rocked my world!! Magic, deception, conspiracy and murder are just the tip of the iceberg!

Feyre and her family came from a life of riches, and now she scrounges and hunts for food to keep her two older sisters and their father alive. Because of this, it shaped her into the strong and caring person she is and will sacrifice herself to keep them alive. One hunting expedition changed her life forever and soon she was whisked to the Autumn Court with Tamlin.

I loved seeing her find herself in a new place, not having to catch food and make decisions for herself. She cared for her family for so long that she didn’t know what to do once she didn’t have that. I loved how in the beginning that she was so closed off and slowly let her walls down. She made her own friends in the fae world and the banter she had with Lucien and the slow building tension with Tamlin.

There were a lot of secondary characters introduced and Feyre built strong relationships with a few of them. The banter with Lucien was always amusing, and the sexual tension between Tamlin and Feyre became harder to ignore.

Feyre grew into her own person in this book and I loved how she changed and became more determined to see things right for the fae world. Tamlin was withholding information and I was always curious as to what it was about. The details were revealed slowly throughout the story and looking back I could see the pieces falling into place. Tamlin has to be one of my favourite Fae characters; he is a strong and determined character, but had a soft side for Feyre and could read her so well.

There was plenty of action in A Court of Thorns and Roses and I was glued to this book right to the end. There were lots of twists throughout the story and it was a really exciting read. I am a big fan of new adult reads and the sex scenes in this book showed the depth of the developing relationship between the characters. If you haven’t read a Sarah J. Maas book before, you MUST get this one a give it a whirl!



Complimentary copy provided by Bloomsbury Publishing Australia in exchange for an honest review.




I had to tilt my head back to see his face. His mouth was caught somewhere between a smile and a wince.

"What?" I asked, and put a hand on his chest, preparing to shove myself back. But his other hand slipped under my hair, resting at the base of my neck.
"I'm thinking I might kiss you," he said quietly, intently.
"Then do it." I blushed at my own boldness.

Paperback Arc Page 229

Hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm
Sarah J. MaasSarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she's not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.





Other reviews featuring Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass series
Throne of Glass #1
Crown of Midnight #2
Heir of Fire #3


27 comments:

  1. Ooh, a kiss that starts with a thought. Nice. I have yet to add this one my collection.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Angela ReadingCaveMay 5, 2015 at 7:31 PM

    What a great way to start a kiss. I have seen this one around a lot today. Must be a popular read.

    My Teaser

    ReplyDelete
  3. You're making me jealous, I need to read that too :D !

    ReplyDelete
  4. Between you and Jess, I guess I need to get on this book. I need some really good paranormal and fae are fun. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've been reading some amazing reviews and I have to say, I'm super excited about this one. I'm really interested to see how Maas develops this Fae world! It's hard for me to get into Fae books, so that's another reason I want to give this one a try (plus I love Maas). :D


    Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think every single blog I follow that's read this one loved it something fierce.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sarah J. Maas and faeries - it doesn't get any better than this, right? :) I'm glad you loved it, it seems everyone did, even those who don't necessarily love faeries, lol! It's next on my list and I can't wait! Wonderful review :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Bookworm BrandeeMay 6, 2015 at 9:35 AM

    Okay, I've been interested in reading the Throne of Glass series but this one sounds even more exciting! So do I need to read ToG first? I like the thought of Feyre having the opportunity to figure out who she is other than her family's caretaker. And it seems like the heat between Feyre and Tamlin was a slow burn. Gah! I must figure out how to put this on my shelf! ;) Great review, girl!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I walked past this one in Kmart today and nearly picked it up. After reading your awesome review, I wish I had. Looks like I'll be going back to the store real soon.
    Thanks Naomi, for sharing your thoughts on this one.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Whoa!! You changed your blog. Have I been out of the loop long? I seriously love it! And it loads so much faster.

    Anyway ... yes, I'm excited to read this!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I can't wait to read this one!! I actually haven't read Maas yet, but I think I'm going to start here.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  12. This was a FANTASTIC read! I want more now!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yes! Get it girl! It was a fabulous read...

    ReplyDelete
  14. This one is really good and not too complex! I hope you do get into it... Love, love , love!

    ReplyDelete
  15. It was a mind blowing read! I love the fae world, and this was amazing!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Yay! I hope you enjoy it Ramona!

    ReplyDelete
  17. This book is totally separate from ToG, so jump on this if you want to, so worth it. But you will be dying like me to get the next one!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Haha! That's ok. Get it next time, you won't regret it!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Haha! It happened on Sunday after my weekly post went up. I have a few things left to do!
    I hope you enjoy it; AWESOME read!

    ReplyDelete
  20. YES!! Do it! You will love it!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I want this book so much! Can't wait to get my hands on it. Glad you enjoyed it and great review:)

    ReplyDelete
  22. I love magical stories and the Fae are so fun to read about! I love new adult books and this one sounds so sexy, and like quite a page turner! Awesome Review Friend!!!


    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  23. I LOVED this book so much, you have no idea how much! I have missed a great fantasy/fae read!!

    ReplyDelete
  24. It was an amazing read Lindy! I was so happy to be back in the fae world. I hope you get a chance to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I completely understand, I lurrvvve the fae so much xD!

    ReplyDelete

If you can't leave a comment please EMAIL ME a quick message!! Disqus may have some tweeks :)